Ab​ou​t Me

I have a Bachelor of Arts degree from Sam Houston State University and a

Master of  Science degree from the University of Houston/Clear Lake. My

certifications include: special education, early childhood for exceptional

children, language/learning disabilities, kindergarten, elementary education

and ESL. I retired nine years ago after 37 years of teaching in Texas public

schools. Fifteen years were spent working with children with learning disabilities,

early childhood special needs and multi-handicaps. My regular education experience

included pre-kindergarten through third grade self-contained classrooms.

In addition, I taught child development courses at the community college level.

Tutoring individual students, whether in my home, at school, or for a local

tutoring service, has been a passion of mine for more than twenty five years.

I've been married 46 years. My husband and I are very fortunate to have

our daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren live close enough to enjoy often.

Life is good!

I enjoy spending time with my family, gardening, walking, yoga, listening to music,

camping, decorating, reading, and learning.

Philosophy & Goal

I am passionate about helping children reach their academic potential.

I believe every child can be successful in learning, regardless of their

unique learning style, rate, or interests.

My goal is to build a safe learning environment in which children learn for

themselves in a way that is relaxed and fun. I work to build their self-

confidence as we improve academic skills.